Bevin Filippo #6

Where were you born?
Cicero, IL

Current Occupation
I am Assistant Director of the Media Resources Department at a medical university.  I've had several positions at the university over the past 18 years.  I've also been a Production Assistant and graphics person for a video production company as well as office assistant for a non-profit organization and a circulation clerk for a public library.

How old were you when you first skated?
I was 4 or 5 years old.

What college did you attend?
Lewis University

Did you practice any other sports in high school or college?
I competed in artistic roller skating in grade school and did Cross Country and Track & Field throughout high school.

What you would tell a young girl who wanted to play roller derby?
Go for it!  Never be afraid to try new things and go outside your comfort zone.

What is your favorite thing about roller derby?
It's hard to pick just one thing but I would have to say the action--and, then, deciding how your going to respond to that in a split second.  It's definitely an adrenaline rush!

How far you travel to practice?
About 45 minutes

What has been the best roller derby game you have played?
The 2013 Regionals' game against Tulsa Derby League.

Have you played roller derby on other teams?
I have not been on any other teams but I am an Instructor for Derby Lite.

What is your favorite city in the world?
I guess I would have to say Las Vegas for the limitless people-watching.

What is your favorite T.V. show?
C.S.I.

And your favorite movie?
Forrest Gump

What you do for charity/volunteering?
I donate to the National MS Society and JDRF and raise money/participate in the NCS Walk and Roll.

What's hot right now?
Chicago Red Hots

What's not right now?
The winter weather